Dierks Bentley will have the honors of hosting the upcoming sixth-annual ACM Honors event, which take place at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium on September 24, 2012. The evening is dedicated to recognizing award recipients and special honorees in the non-televised categories of the Academy of Country Music Awards.

It will be Bentley’s first time hosting the event, and he says he’s excited about his new gig. “I’m really looking forward to helping recognize this year’s ACM honorees,” the singer reveals. “Country music has so many talented artists, songwriters and people working behind the scenes . . . I’m flattered that I’ve been asked to stand on stage beside them.”

“Dierks’ incredible passion combined with his respect for and overwhelming knowledge of the country music genre, both as a renowned artist and songwriter, make him an ideal host for ACM Honors,” Michelle Goble, ACM’s Senior Vice President of Membership and Industry Relations, says. “We look forward to his contribution to the show, as we pay tribute to those who helped forge country music into the outstanding genre it is today.”

The evening will recognize special award recipients Bobby Braddock, Kenny Chesney, Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, Gayle Holcomb, Alan Jackson, Billy Sherrill, Ricky Skaggs and Dwight Yoakam. Roger Miller will receive a posthumous honor. The ceremony will also recognize winners in the MBI (musician, bandleader, instrumentalist) and industry categories, as well as Songwriter of the Year — the first time that category has been awarded since Roger Miller won it in 1965.

The sixth-annual ACM Honors will take place on Monday, Sept. 24 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville at 7PM. Tickets will go on sale Friday, August 17, 2012 at the Ryman box office, Ryman.com, Ticketmaster outlets, Ticketmaster.com or by calling 800-745-3000.

More From Cat Country 102.9